Linkitty link link…

I have been avoiding/procrastinating doing my blog.  There are a few reasons for this.

Im busy- this is true but that is simply a logistics issue- where there is a will there is a way.  So I cannot really fall on this excuse.

I’m overwhelmed by it- or rather by my expectations of grandeur.  I expect life-changing epic posts that will inspire a nation wide revolutionary call to action now!!!  But that is silly, all I really want is to peek my little head in and say “hi!”  Funny how my expectations and my actual wants don’t really match up. Hmmm.

So I am making the decision right here and now to take the pressure off.  There will be no brilliance expected here.  Just little ‘ol me dancing on my playground.  That’s what life is anyway huh?  Fun, sunshine and rain. Feeding one’s soul *joy* for breakfeast, lunch and dinner is why I’m alive.  I am working on strategies to make this blog more joyful, less intimidating/daunting:

Just keep it short and sweet, unless there is a big topic begging to be written.  My goal is just a wee bit- everyday/ every couple of days- you know easy peasy.

With that being said, here are a few epic revolutionary life-changing links.  Enjoy!

~This is just gorgeous.  plus there are beautiful hooping pictures 😉

~Inspiring example of just how powerful we are, just how deeply we are able to effect one another.  I love this “Operation

~The world’s best horoscopes. They just don’t get any better that this.  And his book is traveling to my house as I write.  I’ll let you know 😉

~And I could probably link to her page everyday if I didn’t control myself.  I came across this post yesterday in my pre-hoop class self pep talk section.  It really hit the mark for me.  Goddess Leonie is a superhero.  Her power? Shooting rainbow sparkling moonbeams of love and encouragement through the internet.  I’ve never seen anything like it.

Enjoy beautiful readers.  Thanks for showing up.

3 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    May 5, 2010 at 4:44 am

    Honey. . . I LOVE your blogs. . . the simple, happy things are the “stuff” of life!!!!!!!! The photos, things you’re making, etc. make me feel so connected to you!:) Please don’t stop and don’t expect grandness!!!!

    On the contrary, I’m going through some deep and hard core reconnecting of the “image” I have projected to just “function” and in some instances survive to the core of my being. I have disconnected many parts of myself from others over fifty years. The only way I know how to put Humpty Dumpty back together again is to write:) What I am writing about is hard, painful, makes me cry and laugh and feel a little more whole with each post.

    Sweetie. . . ENJOY your life and all that is good about it in the present moment!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please (there will be plenty of time for angst and retrospection during a much LATER season in your life) I love you. I love your posts, and I love what you’re doing, and I love that you are such a good wife and mommy. Everything you post gives me one more sense of reassurance that I did something good in raising you. (Not that it’s your point or objective–it’s a welcome and wonderful outcome for me).

  2. martha jewel said,

    May 5, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Miss Amanda Sue Rockwell Higgins! Once again you hit the nail smack-dab on the head! Procrastinating…..only instead of putting off chores we dread, we put off special little “treats” thinking that it has to be done perfectly or not at all (I’m speaking solely of my own experience here). Grand gestures truly pale in comparison to a heartfelt smile or a kind word. Your words, whether breath-stopping poetry, or sister-to-sister pure naked honesty, make me pause & wonder, always. So take the advice of a very wise & gifted woman, that woman being Miss Amanda Sue Rockwell Higgins. Do that which brings you joy. Perfection is over-rated.

  3. Jennifer said,

    May 6, 2010 at 12:10 am

    I can definitely relate to that feeling of wanting to write “epic posts” that will somehow change the world for the better. I think you’re wise to take that pressure off and focus on joy, fun, etc. It reminds me of Ghandi’s quote, “Be the change you want to see in the world.” Something like that.
    The other thing that I can relate to is feeling pressure to write so many blogs per week. At first, I thought only my family and friends would actually read my blog. Now that I actually have readers from around the world, sometimes I feel like I’ll let them down if I don’t post. But then I get over myself and realize there are plenty of amazing blogs out there to keep them busy. : ) I don’t want my blog to ever feel like an obligation so now I write when I feel inspired to do so.
    Now, I going to check out these links. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

