Sweet Coincidence

During the weeks that followed my baby’s birth, we rocked and swayed and soothed to the gentle sweet songs of an old John Denver’s Greatest Hits Cd.  There was something about his music that was just so perfect, that struck the perfect cord for that time.  As my baby and I floated back to earth in our fragile rainbow bubble,  we spent tender moments dreamy, blissful, and blanketed in the comfort of his angel voice.

Since that precious time, I’ve been singing more to my girl to help her sleep.  I go through all the lullabies that I heard when I was a kid, and any song that comes to mind really.  But there is one lullaby that I just loved when I was little.  It’s called “Today.”  All my life I have heard this song, sung it, have known all the words, but I have never known who sang it or where it came from.  And then I googled it (and can I just say how AWESOME is it that we live in a time I can do so?!?).  Guess who?!

That’s right. My sweet soothing angel voice, John Denver.

4 Comments

  1. martha jewel said,

    May 6, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Isn’t that amazing?! I remember that song. “The New Christy Minstrals” sang the version I’m familiar with. A song that I used was “Edelweiss” from “The Sound of Music”. Sweet melody.

  2. Mom said,

    May 6, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Today,
    While the blossoms
    Still cling to the vine
    I’ll taste your strawberries
    I’ll drink your sweet wine
    A million tomorrows
    Shall all pass away
    E’er I forget
    All the joy that is mine
    Today. . . .

    Is that it, honey? I love that song. . . (And Edelweiss, Martha!:).
    Love to you, kiddo.

  3. Mom said,

    May 6, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    By the way, if it is the song, it’s pretty amazing about the John Denver thing:) Hugs!

  4. amandaisamomma said,

    May 9, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Yup mama- that’s the one, sitll know all the words and now I even know an extra verse. 🙂
    and I LOVE eidlewiess- I’ll have to use that:)


Leave a Reply

