Rest, Replenish

The past week my body and mind have been telling me that its time to rest.

Normally, my response goes something like …”Ha! Rest? Don’t you know how important I am? how much I have to do? and how the world would cease to function if I didn’t take out the trash, do the dishes, fold laundry, mow the lawn….ect. Normally I give myself some mate and barrel through my day at full speed inhaling the to do’s on my list.  Occaisionally I’ll burn out or just crash- and watch movies or just laze around and feel guilty doing it.

But not this week.  This week I made a big point of taking moments, real intentional moments of rest.  Moments of deep inner listening, slow moments of prayer, and paying attention.

We had one afternoon officially declared “Mommy and Cora’s afternoon of Rest, Relaxation and Rejuvination”  We took an extra long bath, spent the afternoon in Pj’s, made tea, layed in the sunshine in the backyard and made a great effort to rest.  I even did an herbal steam and foot soak… When Cora took her nap, I took a blanket outside by myself and enjoyed this…..

Just a simple moment that washed my soul in warm sun, fresh green spring, and buzzy busy bees. 

I made a pretty great effort to spend most of the precious time I had to really just stare at the gorgeous scenery above me…..and JUST RELAX…. But here is my little magic blanket station….

My journal, markers, a project, oracle cards, and my first taste of honey dew this spring.  So clearly, I’m still learning the fine art of resting…

But I’m learning that a break has the power to give me tremendous energy so that when I resume all of my to-do’s I am so much more efficient.  Its like my brain has had a moment to organize and process all of the information I constantly gather and actually digest it.  I’m learning that to rest is to replenish one’s source of power and creativity, it is to have a chance to gain perspective, make plans of action, and ultimately  become more effective.

2 Comments

  1. martha jewel said,

    May 11, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    I’m glad you did that. It’s sooooo important to take “me” time. And the gifts you are giving Cora are priceless.

  2. Mom said,

    May 12, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Yay Amanda! . . . I am still learning–you will be so healthy (and so will little pixie) if you learn to do this now.
    Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

