Crystal Thursday- Amethyst

Crystal Thursday is coming a day late this week.  We are working on night weaning, and it has been a really  huge transition for our little family, and one for the better of course.

So our crystal of the week is……Amethyst!

Amethyst is a member of the crystal quartz family, distinguished by its gorgeous purple hue that is caused by iron traces lodged between the crystal lattice structure.  It forms inside of druzes and geodes and has been found throughout the world but most commonly in Brazil, Mexico, Africa, U.S, and Europe.  This crystal was given its name by a greek myth that tells of when a young maiden, Amethyst, was spared the wrath of Dionysis(the wine god) by being turned into a crystal.  Dionysis was so moved by the beauty of this crystal the he wept purple tears of remorse giving the crystal its color.  “Amethystos” is the Greek word meaning non-inebriated, and this crystal has been renowned for its sobering effects throughout the ages.  Amethyst is a classic meditation tool for it can clear away the mundane chatter of our mind giving us access to the deep wisdom within ourselves.  It bestows a peaceful frame of mind that is valuable to acting for ones true purpose, and from a place of deep inner peace, rather than surrendering to intoxicating desires.  It is helpful in healing addictions, soothing grief and gaining access to the perspective of one’s higher self.

3 Comments

  1. May 22, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    Cool!!! learning something new every time I read these.
    Love, Mom

  2. Sue Rockwell said,

    August 5, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    I don’t know where I was when you wrote this, but it is of great intrest for me, because I have a good size amethyst. I had it in our bedroom for a long while, until someone told me it may have something to do with our insomnia,because it has so much energy. I moved it to the bathroom. We still arn’t sleeping all well. Someone else told me I should have Jasper in the bedroom??? Now I’m thinking. I have a granddaughter that could answer there questions for me. I so do enjoy reading your thursday writings.

    • amandaisamomma said,

      August 9, 2010 at 9:10 am

      Oh I do like these questions, especially because amethyst is the one crystal that I have my bedside table. My own experience with it is that at first it can bring on a great deal of vivid dreams and do a kind of psychic cleansing, afterwards it can help sleep be very peaceful and deep. However I don’t claim to speak for anyone else and if a crystal next to the bed is not helping then by all means move it!
      I have heard that selenite is a great crystal to sleep with. And Rose quartz is a stone to have with you anytime day and night 🙂


Leave a Reply

