Crystal Thursday- Choosing Your Crystals


These are pictures of our family store, Mystic Trade Company.  (our website is currently getting an oh so fabulous make-over but this link will work soon!)

After writing down the title to this weeks installment of Crystal Thursday, the first thought that crossed my mind was that I have often found that crystals actually choose us more than the other way around.  So a more appropriate title would be, “How to Find the Crystal That Wants To Go Home With You”.

I had this experience with a pink Kunzite crystal last winter.  I was working at the store one day and was stopped in my tracks by this crystal, I picked it up and my body was flooded with a wonderful blissful sensation.  I held it that whole day.  When I went home that night it kept popping up in my head and each time it did I could feel that wonderful sensation.  I ended up keeping it, and wearing it exclusively for about 3 months straight.  Upon looking into what kunzite is good for I discovered it is a stone that facilitates being of service to others, and having gratitude for the honor to serve others.  That time of my life I was struggling with what it meant to be a woman, a mother and to serve my family in that capacity.  The kunzite brought so much strength and bliss to my home life and my attitude towards the ways in which I could best help serve my family.  I felt a great depth of understanding that even though the role of woman in a family isn’t lucrative per se, it is hugely valuable.  I began to deeply value my work and take great pride and pleasure in caring for the people around me, and I realized what a blessing it is to have others in my life to serve.

The art of choosing your crystals is all about, intuition, deep listening to that quiet voice in the center of your being. That little spot in your chest or belly that *leaps* when it encounters the right thing.  Having crystals in one’s life can and will empower the intuitive forces within.  The first and foremost factor to consider when choosing a crystal is to ask which one were you most excited by and attracted to. There are factors to consider, such as how your piece will be utilized in your life.  Are you looking for a peice that will be used to enhance the healing energy of a space like your home, garden, or office? Will it be carried with you as soul support throughout the day?  Will it hang out under you pillow for dream work?  Is it for meditation or other healing applicatoins?

There are factors to consider such as size, color, texture, and fragility.

Sometimes I’ve choose stones based on different energies I am intending on facilitating in my life.  I will often wear my amber pendant if I am wanting to embody a cheerful disposition.  I hold ruby or carnelian to activate creativity and confidence, opal for some of the same with a whole lot of playfulness.  I love to bathe with rose quartz or jade.  I have used aquamarine to support communication.

Sometimes I have had stones chosen for me in dreams.  There have been periods when I knew exactly which stone to work with because it came through as a strong image in my dream, down to every detail in color or shape(though the size is usually quite distorted).  I have even dreamed of stones that I had never seen or met before and had the exact stone brought into the store the very next day by someone hoping to sell it.

The process of choosing a stone is such a personal one.  There are excellent books that can be used as guides, especially if you are seeking a particular outcome.  “Crystal Healing, Crystal Power” by Michael Gienger is my very favorite.  I also like “Love is in the Earth” by Melody.  Ultimately, your heart, your spirit will know which crystal has chosen you.

5 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    June 4, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Can I see a pink Kunzite here? Nice instructions, Amanda–especially for those of us who are entirely crystal naive:)
    Love, Ma

  2. Mom said,

    June 4, 2010 at 9:31 am

    By the way, the store looks wonderful. . . nice going Todd and family helpers:)

  3. Martha Jewel said,

    June 4, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Wonder-full Crystal Thursday!

  4. Jennifer said,

    June 6, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    Wow! Your shop is gorgeous!!! I love the colors on the wall and that shell looking sculpture and how the artwork on the wall kind of looks similar. I would love to wander through your shop. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to read your blog and I’ve really enjoyed all of your posts. You are so prolific! Thank you for the crystal thursdays. It’s so interesting. I think I need to find a crystal shop in my area.

  5. June 8, 2010 at 7:19 am

    What an incredible looking shop! I had a similar experience to your finding the pink Kunzite crystal when, many years ago, I found a rose quartz bear necklace (or it found me!) and I later found out that it is believed to have the exact healing powers I needed..(http://www.crystalsandjewelry.com/metaphysical_healing/stoneinfo/rosequartz.html) I wore it non-stop for many years! Thank you for your interesting and inspiring advice 🙂


Leave a Reply

