Back To Gratitude

Its been one of those weeks.  My man is stuck on the couch.  I am still engaged in an epic battle with ants for the occupation of my kitchen and dining room.  I can’t find my camera!!!! (and a few other things too for that matter)  My baby is 18 months and is changing fast (ie. I feel like I’m getting yelled at a whole lot more than before).  The Yard is transforming into The Jungle unless I get outside and do something fast!  Basically there are moments that I feel like I am riding a great big current and I can’t do much but go with the flow of it, and then there are moments that I feel like I am drowning underneath a to do list but stuck in the rocking chair nursing.

It makes me think of a Maya Angelou quote that I will paraphrase as I cannot find it, if anyone knows please help me out!!  The quote goes something like, Never fall apart practice staying strong because that is how we get stronger.

So I go back to gratitude.  Because I have so much to be grateful for.  Because I am not a victim of any circumstances, I am the of an opportunity to be more of a badass than I thought I could be.  Because I have more to be grateful for than I have time to even write it all down here.  Because I am thrilled by the changes happening in the world and I can’t wait to see what will happen next. I can’t wait to see what I will do next.  It’s all so exciting really.

I am realizing that gratitude is to spirit, mind and body what the breath is to the body, mind and spirit.  It’s the beginning.  It’s the place to start, when you don’t know where to start.

I leave you now with a great big breath. and a great big GULP of gratitude.  What are you grateful for?

5 Comments

  1. jody said,

    June 27, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    YOU!!Your family, friendship, support, my time with cora, all my beautiful stones that make my home serene, all the beautiful jewelry i now own…..just to name a few things that first come to mind.
    I too am trying to focus on gratitude in moments that do not benefit me. Here is another good quote “I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought, and gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.” G.K. Chesterton
    You are the epiphany of STRONG!!!!!!!! Have no fear you will get your regular calm routine back once you are settled in your “castle” on 40 acres, and I know all those items you can not put your hands on at this time will appear during your move.
    One last thing and this makes me a little sad to say so brace yourself for this, your blog at your new house will no longer be about a “momma and a BABY”. you are now transforming into “momma & toddler” hence the feelings of being “screamed” at 🙂 but oh the new capabilities of a toddler are endless, and fun fun fun 🙂 sorry to write a short novel here

    • amandaisamomma said,

      June 28, 2010 at 2:14 pm

      Dody, You’re da best!!!

  2. June 28, 2010 at 7:39 am

    I’m not sure which quote you mean There are lots here: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/m/maya_angelou.html. I like this one of hers: “Anyone can give up, it’s the easiest thing in the world to do. But to hold it together when everyone else would understand if you fell apart, that’s true strength.”

    You have a lot to deal with now but you have gratitude, love and strength and you will do well 🙂

    I am grateful, every day, for the good health of my 3 children and for the many things in the world that are good and beautiful that help me to live with the things that upset me.

    • amandaisamomma said,

      June 28, 2010 at 2:17 pm

      Thanks Suzanne! that is a great quote, and so true. I can’t wait to browse that link I bet theres some good stuff. And there really is so much to be so very grateful for.

  3. Grandma B. said,

    June 29, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Oh honey. . . you have painted a beautiful portrait of how perfect life’s imperfections are, and that the place to go is toward your strength. I love that Maya Angelou quote and many other things she has said. I heard her paraphrased the other night and it resonated with me so much (but is not really apt here, but thought you might like hearing it). She said something like “you can’t go through life with two catcher’s mits on; you need one hand to throw the ball back”. Anyway, I loved it.

    In the meantime, I’m sorry you’re dealing with an ant battle, nature’s bountiful overgrowth and a toddler who is realizing she is a separate being from you. You two are so connected, that has to produce a whole lot of anxiety in that little pixie. You will both get through this, and if she does the mini-teenage version of “come here, go away,” it’s a perfectly normal stage and probably won’t come back tiill she’s about twelve:). . . then again at about 18.

    I want to take this moment to tell you how MUCH I LOVE my washcloths. . . it’s not completely unexpected, but a bit of a surprise how LUXURIOUS it feels to wash with them. I refuse to use them on dishes or anything else. You honestly should sell them. It’s the love that went into you making them, but not only that–the yarn you’ve used is so soft and ever so calming. Also, my rose quartz sits on my bedside table and is the last thing I touch each day before I sleep. Not only is it beautiful, I am beginning to learn how to experience its healing power (though I am not good at it yet).

    I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I have had the happiest three days I have had in a long time, despite a pancreas that went kaput again and annoying health routines that will make things better.

    I love you so much and will be thinking about you as always. Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

