“Work is love made visible.”

A thing I like to do is pick up a book- which ever one is jumping out at the moment, and turn to a random page in it.  For me, it works as an emotional and spiritual support system.

Somehow, what is on the page is always the exact perfect thing I needed to know at that moment.

The other day I opened Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet, a book that should be in every household if you ask me.  And here is what it had to say to me.

“You work that you may keep pace with the earth and the soul of the earth.

For to be idle is to become a stranger unto the season’s and to step out of life’s procession, that marches in majesty and proud submission toward the infinite.

When you work you are a flute who’s heart the whispering of the hours turns to music.

Which of you would be a reed, dumb and silent, when all else sings together in unison?……..

……And what is it to work with love?

It is to weave the cloth with threads drawn from the heart, even as if your beloved were to wear that cloth.

It is to build a house with affection, even as if your beloved were to dwell in the house.

It is to sow seeds with tenderness and reap the harves twith joy, even as if your beloved were to eat the fruit.

It is to charge all things you fashion with the breath of your own spirit,

And know that all the blessed dead are standing about you watching.”

This passage reminds me what a happy work song my days are singing right now.

Today was a song of helping my sweet little sugar plum pick out her own clothes.

Running to town for a trip to the library, and to pick out some winter vegetable plant starts.

Digging in the dirt, and the sunshine, preparing the soil for aforementioned vegetables.

Having snacks, practicing drinking water from cups without lids.

Making homemade garden burgers out of lentils and zucchini.

Playing airplane, reading books, watching horses, chasing lizards, checking the garden for cucumbers, counting cows….

And ending this sweet day with a gorgeous sunset walk with my favorite girl.

I am reminded how precious this time is.  I am reminded to value the “work” of our bonding.  I honor the time spent pouring love into our home life.

Too often I begin to feel ambitious.  I begin to think words like “career” and “daycare.” I begin to discredit and devalue doing dishes, and laundry.  I forget that my beloveds eat off those dishes and wear those clothes.  But there will be a time for that in the nearer than I even want to believe future.

For now I want to revel in the great big luxury of being here, at home with my precious girl.  I want to pour a solid foundation in our home and our hearts of binding love glue.  Love glue that will carry us through the busy years when she’s in school and we are not spending all day everyday together.  I want to beherenow for my girl,to revel in every shining golden moment of babyhood that is fading so fast.  I want to give her all of me while we are still home together.

2 Comments

  1. Martha Jewel said,

    August 12, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Beautiful words. And those words carry more truth than you realize. The times that I chose to put my child in second place, for whatever reason, are the times that I regret the most. And no matter how hard I try to make up for it, that precious time is gone forever. As life goes racing by, you will look back and wonder, did I pay attention to every moment? You can never regret putting your sweetest gift ahead of everything else. The years are gone before you can blink your eyes. And as we are all being reminded recently, there is no promise of tomorrow. And you can’t get yesterday back. Today is all we have.

  2. Hannah said,

    August 12, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Amen, Manda. . . the best times of my life were the times at home with you and Steffie–then and still.


Leave a Reply

