Pep Talk Time

This morning on a treasure hunt for my passport (ain’t moving grand?) I came across an old sketch book.  It hadn’t been used but a couple of times before Gypsy the puppy decided to chew it up.  There was a small sketch inside of it, one that I had done on the first buying trip to Tuscon we made right before we opened our store.  It was a drawing of a wildflower.  It was a purple flower with lots of lines and intricate funky details that look like a cross between a henna drawing and the inside of a mechanical device.  The drawing was very much my style. And right then it struck me.

I have a style.  I had almost forgot.

See, a couple months ago I (ambitiously) committed myself to participating in the annual Clayfolk show in November.  It is something I have so dearly wanted to do since moving back to Oregon 3 years ago.  I just haven’t made it happen, yet.  In the last couple of weeks the fact that Clayfolk is in 3 months has hit me like a heart attack.  I seriously need to get my a** in gear.  Like yesterday.

But I have been floundering in the studio since I started taking classes last spring. I have been forgetting to send those sourpussed old hags that are my inner critics to the library to shush happy excited children.  Worse I have been listening to them telling me I should really just get real.  Doesn’t Walmart and TJMaxx offer dishes?  So people really need more stuff in thier lives?  I hadn’t found the roaring surf to quiet unhelpful voices. I hadn’t found that old flow that I used to know how to ride.  Until today.

Finding the sketch helped me remember that I am not walking into this totally blind. Such is the birthright of every person on earth, I have a wellspring to fish, a voice to sing, and a flavor that is all my own.  I also remember that I am not walking into this totally alone.  I have the power of Great Spirit, God, and a thousand angels.

I also have the experience I need.  Not only have I set up to sell, I have sold dozens of things I made.  I have been preparing for this for a long time.

I think this post would have been so much more interesting if I had a picture to share of aforementioned sketch.  Alas, I think I am going to do a mondo major post called “Ghosts of Artworks Past”

Just as soon as I get a camera.

Its all apart of my new declaration.  Inspired by this woman.  I hereby declare myself an artist.

6 Comments

  1. Sue Rockwell said,

    August 24, 2010 at 12:24 am

    I for one, totally accept your declaration! And will be watching.

  2. marthajewel said,

    August 24, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Halleleuiah! How can you doubt your unique-ness? Your fingerprints are all over everything that you do. AmandaStyle. Obviously Amanda. Exclusively Amanda. Distinctly Amanda.

  3. amandaisamomma said,

    August 24, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Boy it is such a treat to check on my blog and find a cheering section. I feel like I am in one of those group trust excercises where you fall backward and people catch you. Thank you guys it means the world to have your support.

  4. Mom said,

    August 24, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Honey, at some point I hope you will fill your soul with that cheering section. . . you have always been gifted and unique in layer upon layer of talents. Love, Mom

  5. Mom said,

    August 24, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    You know something else, honey? I was thinking today about writing as a process, and I don’t know why I’ve never thought about it this way before, but when I do it, it’s more about listening than talking. When there is a “flow”, all of the voices in your life(ves) are finding their way into your consciousness and you’re trusting them to say what is true and real. And by the way, hand made is as real as anything gets:). I love that you make me think and more that I am coming to know you. . . better. Love, Mom

  6. Steph said,

    August 25, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    You really are a brilliant artist, and every time we go to the Santa Barbara Arts & Crafts walk I think, man, my sister would put these guys to shame, she should be selling here too! Truthfully, I’m kind of going through a lot of the same thing in terms of doubt, and wondering if I’ve still “got it.” I think I’m pretty knowledgeable when it comes to interior design, but when being faced with the challenge of putting together our new apartment I feel like I’ve totally lost my finesse somewhere. So, thanks for posting this sista! You’ve brought back the “envision”er in me. That’s my word, if it is even a word, according to that chicks website. 😉


Leave a Reply

