The Galaxy Is The Limit

I used to feel so deflated about life, and about the future in general whenever I was given one of those “What career path are you suited for?”  quiz thingys at school.  Whatever the results were for me never seemed to quite fit.  At all.  It never sounded like something that I looked forward to doing for the rest of my life, every day, day in day out.  None of the options really got my heart thumping.  

I wanted other options.  I wanted to mark the box on the survey that said “None of the above.”  (there wasn’t one) I wanted a pair of scissors, some glue, markers, glitter- definitely some glitter and sequins!  I wanted to invent my own career.  And it has truly been more of a career shmorgasboard.  I am very far from being full yet and still going back for more.

So far in my life I have been:

*coffee barista extraordinaire,  tarot healer, fire dancer, yogini, festival booth technician, didgeridoo coach, devoted rhythm worshiper a’ la hoop and things that swing, handy-tool girl, mud shaping visionary, art exhibitor, world traveler, home love infusing cleaning fairy, mug maker, ceramic pendant creatress, farm worker, crystal intuitive, crystal shop proprietor, baby maker/adorer and adorner, gardener, family chef, and most recently website goddess and blog writer.

I clearly have a loose definition of “career”and “making a living.”  But I have a very firm definition of happiness, and of what makes my heart go thump.

I have learned on this career path that as long as your bills are paid, the sky, the galaxy (or more) really is the limits.

2 Comments

  1. marthajewel said,

    August 26, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I think this broken camera thing has boosted your writing prowess. Your words are your pictures. Love, love, love your descriptions of all of your careers.

  2. Hannah said,

    August 27, 2010 at 7:58 am

    I have always said that no matter what, Amanda will keep life interesting–her own and for those around her. . . I am intrigued, pleased and waiting for what will happen tomorrow (literally) and each day after that. Love you–Mom


Leave a Reply

