Workin’ Through It!

Today I had a full day to work in my studio.  Todd had offered to take Cora out for the day so that I could really put some pedal to my metal.  (What a guy!)  And so I sat down set out to work hard and really get some things done.

And then I needed to go to the bathroom. Oh and change my clothes.  Hadn’t it been at least five minuets since I ate something?  I had to straighten up.  The whole studio.  Then every dumb comment that anyone had said to me in my entire life decided to pop by for a visit. Maybe I just needed to sit in the garden, clear my head.  Maybe it wasn’t a wheel day, maybe I needed to hand build.  Maybe I needed to meditate, to visualize myself excited, inspired, ready to bust out! I did.  And went to sit back down, to really get busy now.  Nope.

It was one of those days that wasn’t flowing.  Today I learned that flow of inspiration really is an unessasary luxury some days.  Especially when work just needs to get done. (Especially when one is a Mommy and a whole day in the studio is a precious thing that cannot be wasted!!!)  Today I figured out how to work anyway.  It wasn’t a great day to get innovative, fresh and brave.  Today was for doing some of those more grueling tasks that it would actually be a shame to waste a very creative flow day on.  I did easy stuff, no brainer stuff and I tried to make it fun.

3 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    August 29, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Oh Honey, I know that feeling. . . all too well, but what I have discovered over the years is that what you have done IS work and IS part of the creative process. . . it’s the thing you get through to find the flow, but it doesn’t feel very satisfying when you’re in it–at least that’s what I think. I know your time is precious, but that was not wasted at all . . . it’s part of the process that gets you through to the next part (and unfortunately cannot be hurried by external factors if you want to create art). But–a little bit of consistent immersion will get you there. Hang on sweetie:) It’s all inside you waiting to be expressed. Love, Mom

  2. Mom said,

    August 29, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    By the way, your title says it all:)

  3. marthajewel said,

    August 29, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    All artists have days like this. They must. It is an unwritten law. You cannot legally call yourself an artist unless you have, at the very least, 17 days a year of perceived uncreativeness. It kinda breaks up the monotony(?) of all that tedious inspiration doesn’t it?


Leave a Reply

