Tour of Artworks

I have been wanting a post of art pieces all compiled into one place.  Mostly for reasons of personal creative perspective.  I have heard at some point in time a saying about knowing where you are going by seeing where you’ve been.  So, I thought we could all take a tour of some (just some) of the artworks created in the last couple of years.  Its funny because I don’t consider the last couple of years to be a time of huge productivity in the art department of life, but apparently some things did get made.

A fairly old painting that marked the end of my wild scribbling with paint era.  This painting was informally titled “The Vagina”  Looking at it now I believe its may be upside down.  Actually, I could never decide which direction it should hang.

A bird.  Watercolor and marker.

A collection of tiny vases and fairy houses.  At first glance these appear to be successful pieces, but in fact they were all a part of a tragic kiln accident in which the temperature was held too high for too long.  Every single piece fired in the kiln (and its a big kiln, this was months of work) was melted to the shelves, and subsequently ruined.  But everything is a blessing, and this was a vivid lesson.  I payed a mighty tuition that day to the gods of the kiln.  I also now have an excellent and highly experienced mentor to hold my hand through sacred kiln firing.Some fun sketches.  Paper-dancing, I like to call it.

A petal?  Or an updated version of La Vajeena?  (the j is silent)  Created in my recent wildly goddess phase, that I’m still in.  Though the phase has morphed into an angel/insect phase, photos coming soon, and boy I bet you can’t wait!!

These two are paintings I made while sitting my big ole pregnant butt on the couch waiting for my baby to be born.  Its a little wild how the feel of them is so very different from each other yet the subject matter is essentially the same.  Also funny how I never noticed the similarity until now!  The pictures remind me of the tarot card “The Hanged Man”  how fitting that is for being pregnant, surrendering to a situation one cannot change or get out of.

And here is one of the first things I made after Cora was born.  Back in the days when she would sleep for about 22 hours a day.  It wasn’t long before she didn’t sleep all day long and she needed her mama all day long.  But I also know thanks to the bagillion people who remind me constantly that her needing me all day long goes by too fast as well. Before I know it she and I will both be enjoying clay time!  (and do already thought she has a slightly shorter attention span for it than I do.)

“Ode to the Squash Blossom”   Oh how those beauties made my heart soar this summer.  I made this painting recently.  And it makes me wonder why I keep trying to paint in acrylics when I so clearly am much more at home with the whole watercolor/ marker combo.  But I just keep trying.

And anywhooo… these days, weeks, months have really been all about the ceramics studio.  Very soon I’ll have a whole bunch of pictures to post here all about it.  In the meantime, a couple of sneak peaks…

7 Comments

  1. marthajewel said,

    October 2, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    I’m glad you did this. Do you have a favorite period? I DO! I love the tiny vases & fairy houses. I love the paintings you did while you were pregnant. I love the squash blossom. I love anything you put a face on…….. masks, boxes,etc. I love the vessels, mugs, lanterns, bowls. Back to the paintings, your style is sooooo distinctive & unique. I don’t care whether you use acrylics, water colors, crayons, crushed beets, blackberries, or bird pooh, your creations are gallery-worthy!!!! I know I’m gushing, but I am so proud of you!

  2. marthajewel said,

    October 2, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    P.S. I love the bird paintings too.

  3. Mom said,

    October 2, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Honey, I love all this work—you definitely have a voice and a perspective! You are in all of these pieces, and your natural gifts shine through. If I didn’t know it was my daughter and I saw any of it some place, I would keep looking and keep looking. . . and think I would walk away with number three fairy house and the second pregnant piece. I would not walk away or pass by ANY of them. I’m so impressed, Manda. Dang you’re good:) And if/when you get a chance, take a look at the work of Erik Slutsky–that’s some of the inspiration for my book cover art–I think you and he could “talk to each other” visually.

  4. Mom said,

    October 2, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    By the way, I still love the framed piece “Bugs are Beautiful” I have in my office:) . . . . AND my oil painting. . . AND my little hut:) Timeless and beloved.

  5. Mom said,

    October 2, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    By the way again, you really know how to work with color. . . that’s a gift too:)

  6. October 2, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Each piece is so beautiful.
    In each one, I see what seems to be the center of a soul. Your’s perhaps??? I could never pick a favorite, I love them all.
    I am so glad you shared your work with us. Thank you.

  7. October 2, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    You’re right, I can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

